Top Medical schools in Malaysia

Here is a quick overview of all the private medical schools in Malaysia.

QIUP is a private university established in 2008 in collaboration with the State Government of Perak with the goal of becoming. A state-of-the-art Medical Faculty has been established in Ipoh to cater for the medical programme which has enrolled its inaugural batch of students in July 2012.


UTAR was awarded 5 stars in the SETARA 2011 ranking conducted by MQA. The university has several campuses across Malaysia with a total student population of nearly 20,000. Its medical and health sciences faculty is in its Sungai Long Campus.


The AIMST University medical programme is modeled on the clinically integrated curriculum followed by major medical schools in the United Kingdom and also incorporates local requirements stipulated by the Malaysian Medical Council. The 5-year medical programme is conducted entirely within the State.


The medical school of UCSI University was established in 2005. UCSI university’s medicine programme is segregated into two phases. Phase 1 of the programme (the first two years) is conducted at the Kuala Lumpur campus while Phase 2 (the final three years) is based at the clinical school at the Terengganu campus.


Taylor’s University adopts the hybrid medical curriculum that combines traditional and the integrated problem based approach of teaching. The medical programme also introduces students to medical research, self-study modules as well as electives. The campus is equipped with 17 specially built lab facilities for medicine and health sciences spanning an area of over 16,000 square feet.


IMU has over 22 years of dedicated focus in healthcare education. In 2011, IMU received a Tier-5 rating in the SETARA ratings by the Malaysian Qualifications Agency (MQA). IMU’s lecturers are highly-qualified in their fields of expertise with extensive experience. Through exclusive arrangements with their partner universities, senior faculty members from those universities participate in yearly quality assurance reviews which ensures that IMU’s benchmarks global standards.


Management & Science University’s International Medical School has two campuses, in Bangalore, India and in Shah Alam. The IMS campus in Bangalore focuses entirely on the MBBS Degree programme (Bachelor of Medicine & Bachelor of Surgery). At its Shah Alam campus, IMS offers 3 programmes and these are MBBS degree, Bachelor of Medical Science and Diploma in Medical Science. Students pursuing their studies at the Shah Alam campus may opt for transfer to the IMS Bangalore campus.


Established as public-private initiative, Perdana University is known for providing premier programmes. Perdana University offers two medical programmes: the Medical Degree Programme 5+0 in collaboration with the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland and the Doctor of Medicine 4+0 in collaboration with the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, the academic medical teaching and research arm of Johns Hopkins University.


Established in 1977 and originally called Systematic College, SEGi University now has five campuses across Malaysia. In 2011, SEGi was awarded tier-5 rating by the MQA. SEGi’s 5-year medical programme prepares aspiring doctors for a challenging career ranging from promotive, preventive, therapeutic and rehabilitative medicine.


Asia Metropolitan University (AMU), formerly known as Masterskill College of Health Sciences, is one of the largest nursing and health colleges in the Asia Pacific region. AMU has also strong partnerships with University of Sunderland (UK) and Guangxi Medical University (CN) to advance international collaboration in the vast growing fields of medical science, innovation and health care.


The MBBS of course of Jeffrey Cheah School of Medicine and Health Sciences at Monash University Malaysia has received accreditation from the Australian Medical Council (AMC), making it the first medical course fully conducted in Malaysia to be accredited by a foreign medical accreditation council.


The NUMed Malaysia five-year MBBS programme is identical to that of Newcastle’s UK provision. TheMBBS programme provides a general medical education, suitable for all types of doctor and serve as the foundation for later career specialisation.




The MBBS program at MAHSA University is a 5-year program which is conducted entirely (Phase l, thee first 2 years) at the Jalan Universiti Campus, and at Hospital Tanjung Karang and Hospital Kuala Lumpur (Phase ll, the final 3 years). The student will earn a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS- MAHSA University) once they have completed the 5 years program


The Melaka Manipal Medical College (MMMC) is a renowned private medical institution with a hallmark of academic excellence and an enviable track record in providing quality medical education. The medical programme at MMMC is carried out in collaboration with the esteemed Manipal University, India when its professional colleges were granted university status, making it the first institute in the private sector to be recognised as a deemed university by the government of India.


The medical programme at Penang Medical College (PMC) is a partnership of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI) and University College Dublin (UCD). The programme is accredited by both the Irish and Malaysian Medical Councils. For the first two and a half years of the programme, students will be based in Ireland and undertake early clinical sciences studies in RCSI or UCD. Upon completion. students return to Penang, Malaysia for a further two and a half years where you will complete rigorous and extensive clinical training.


The Faculty of Medicine at CUCMS has been in the country for nearly nine years. Since its establishment, it has produced five batches of medical graduates. Its medical programme applies student-centred learning approach, the teaching and training in military medicine, disaster management and humanitarian relief training. In 2011, it received 5-tier rating by the MQA.


UCSA gained its university college status in 2011 with a permanent campus at Bandar Indera Mahkota, Kuantan. Its MBBS program has been specifically designed to bring out the best in students and to mould them into dedicated, compassionate and holistic physicians who are continuous learners and hold mankind and society close at heart.


Lincoln University College (LUC) began in 2002 as Lincoln College (LC). After nine years, it achieved university college status. The first two years of its medical programme is conducted in its PJ campus while the clinical phase will be conducted in hospitals and clinics situated in Lahad Datu, Tawau and Semporna.
Editor’s Note: Allianze University College Medical Sciences (AUCMS) was not included in the list as it closed down due to bankruptcy.
Disclaimer: course fees/estimates are subject to change without notice.



Click to register for this program now!

register - asian study centre